Warning: may contain addictive properties!

May 16, 2011 at 8:22 pm Leave a comment


My family’s obsession with food quickly turned into my desire to try every single type of food I could find. Thanks to my Italian up bringing, I am pretty sure I learned how to twirl pasta with a spoon before I could ride a bike. I’m always trying new things and looking for exciting recipes to show my friends and family. I usually stick to pasta dishes because I’m a broke college student and pasta is cheap. I’ve recently been introduced to another mind-blowing starch: dduk.

What is dduk?  Wikipedia defines dduk (also called Tteok) as a Korean rice cake made with gelatinous rice flour. I define dduk (also nick named crack cakes) as an addictive culinary experience that will blow your mind.

My first encounter with dduk was this past week at my boyfriend’s aunt’s house during Mother’s Day dinner. My boyfriend’s family is Korean, so everything I eat with them is something I’ve never seen in my life. The dduk served to me on that fateful day was in soup, but I’ve come to learn it can be pan-fried, boiled, AND steamed. They have virtually no taste, but they are dense and chewy! It’s pretty much the equivalent of gummy bears but in entrée form….who wouldn’t love that?

I will admit, every Korean I’ve talked to has laughed in my face when I share with them my love of dduk, but that doesn’t stop me from wanting to tell everyone to give them a try! Luckily, there is an asian market right here in Columbia, MO that sells the tasty morsels for around $3.00 a bag.

Here’s a recipe to the amazing soup if you ever get your hands on these crack cakes: http://koreanfood.about.com/od/soupsandstews/r/Dukgook.htm

Happy eating!

Ohlivianne

Entry filed under: Food.

J2150 Bananza

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

May 2011
M T W T F S S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031