Yes Sally, there are still finals during the summer.

June 16, 2011 at 6:19 am Leave a comment

When someone asks about finals, I think of the few weeks leading up to important collegiate breaks like Christmas and Summer. I do not think of finals during my four summer months of pure bliss and relaxation. But… Here I am, almost July, blogging about an upcoming final project.

My group decided to work with a program in Columbia called “Youth In Action.” After looking at the event list I got really excited about spending some time with Columbia’s youth a.k.a little kids! As a group we decided to focus on three of the programs upcoming events. The first one was Family Fun Fest located in Flat Branch Park. Holy cow, I can’t even tell you how adorable it was to watch these little kids run around bouncing off each other. As if watching them wasn’t fun enough, tons of them had their chubby little cheeks covered in face paint. Photographing and being at the event did not seem like work. It wasn’t a chore. Even though I’m not a little kid, I enjoyed watching the children run around.

Journalistically, I was really shocked at how I approached the event. I’ve spent such a small amount of time in J2150, but I honestly feel like I’ve learned a lot of useful stuff! I walked around Flat Branch Park not only looking for kids doing cute things, but for sequences. In my mind I was running through possible
angles and which scenes provided the best opportunity to get some great sequences. Crazy talk, I know!

With all the footage shot by Min Hee and the photographs that I took, I’m really excited to start piecing together the final project. So excited that I actually finished our required video! I am determined to conquer Final Cut Express.

Ohlivianne

Entry filed under: J2150 Lectures.

Mobile Journalism Test Cicadas Don’t Just Make Noise, They Make Cards Too!

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

June 2011
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930