Show Me The Slides

June 5, 2011 at 4:28 am Leave a comment

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-srv/metro/interactives/dcschools/galleries/coolidge/coolidge.html

After going through examples of audio slide shows in class, I wanted to look for some of my own. I hit the web trying to find some of the best audio slides shows to help me get an idea of how this whole thing really works. I found this award-winning audio slide show called “Fixing D.C’s Schools: One School’s Struggle.” This slide show follows students and facility at Calvin Coolidge Senior High, a high school in the D.C area. It won 1st place in The Best of Photo Journalism in 2009, a project of the National Press Photographer’s Association. I watched the “Failing Jonathan” segment and I immediately noticed how the narration matched up with the pictures. This concept is something we talked about in class, and this slide show does it seamlessly. The possibility to give a voice to the voiceless is a journalistic golden nugget, and audio slide shows allow that to happen in a powerful yet concise way. The struggles that students all over the country face are reflected in the hardships the educators and students experience during their time at Calvin Coolidge Senior High. During high school, I knew kids like Jonathan, so I found his story moving and easy to relate to.

Entry filed under: J2150 Lectures. Tags: .

You Saw My Facebook?! If you don’t know, now you know

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Archives

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« May    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Welcome to my Tworld


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

